Denny McClain won 31 games and lost only six

in 1968; he was the first 30-game winner since

Dizzy Dean reached that level 34 years earlier.

No other hurler has come close since ’68; in fact,

few manage to win 20 any longer! But Denny

was the star that year, picking up the Cy Young

and the Most Valuable Player Awards in the

Junior Circuit.

But in the Series, Denny lost two out of three

(Bob Gibson was unreal!) while teammate

Mickey Lolich, with three victories (including

beating Gibson on two days’ rest in the final

match) was the one who led the Tigers to the

Crown . . . the more important when you

consider that Detroit has won it all only four

times since it came into existence in 1901.

(Sunshine is fine but what comes out of the

shadows can take on an unexpected glow

that lights the way to baseball heaven.)